
   
 
Dear Retailer: 
 
 
 
On November 27, 2019, Governor Baker signed into law “An Act Modernizing Tobacco Control.”   Beginning 
June 1, 2020, the following sections of the state law will go into effect.  These include: 
 

 Prohibiting the sale of all flavored tobacco and vape products, including menthol and mint, except at 
Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR)-approved Smoking Bars for on-premises use ONLY; 

 Imposing an excise tax on the sale of vaping products; 

 Requiring that vape product retailers obtain a state license and any required local permit; and 

 Requiring that vape product distributors obtain a state license 
 
DOR is responsible for the excise tax and the state licenses - not cities and towns.  For more information, 
please visit DOR’s website at www.mass.gov/dor. 
 
As a tobacco and/or vape product retailer, please note that the ban on the sale of flavored vape products, which 
went into effect on November 27, 2019, will extend to traditional tobacco products including, but not limited 
to, cigarettes, cigars, chew tobacco, spit tobacco, bidis and loose tobacco.  As of June 1, 2020, general tobacco 
retailers and adult-only retail tobacco stores, cannot sell these products.  Only Smoking Bars are exempt from 
this policy and only for on-premises consumption. 
 
A sample list of affected products include, but are not limited to: 
 

 Newport, Kool and Salem menthol cigarettes 

 Copenhagen, Grizzly and Skoal mint or flavored dip/chew tobacco 

 Cigars, cigarillos or bidis in fruit, candy, mint, menthol or liquor flavors 

 Any other tobacco or vape product that has a taste or aroma other than tobacco 

 Nicotine products even if they do not contain tobacco 
 

Please note that as of June 1, the sale of any tobacco product, including cigarettes, will be prohibited to anyone 
under the age of 21 statewide.  State law also substantially raises the fines for sales to minors and violations of 
the flavored tobacco product sales restriction policy (amongst other state law policies).  Penalties assessed for 
violations of Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 6 are: 
 

 $1000 for a first violation (instead of $100); 

 $2000 for a second violation within 36 months (instead of $200); and 

 $5000 for a third or subsequent violation within 36 months (instead of $300) 
 

Local cities and towns cannot lower these fines.  Repeat violators will also be subject to a local tobacco product 
sales permit suspension. 
 
To read and better understand this amended state laws, see Mass. Gen. Laws Chapter 270, Section 6 or search 
for “MGL Ch. 270, §6”. 

 
North Shore/Cape Ann 

Boards of Health 
Tobacco Policy Program 

 

3 City Hall Square, Suite 401 
 Lynn, MA 01901 

 



         
 
Estimado comerciante: 
 
 
El 27 de noviembre de 2019, el gobernador Baker firmó la ley "Una ley que moderniza el control del tabaco". A 
partir del 1 de junio de 2020, entrarán en vigencia las siguientes secciones de la ley estatal. Éstas incluyen: 
 

• Prohibir la venta de todos los productos aromatizados de tabaco y vape, incluidos el mentol y la menta, 
excepto en las barras de fumar para uso local aprobadas por el Departamento de Ingresos de 
Massachusetts (DOR) SOLAMENTE ; 

• Imponer un impuesto especial sobre la venta de productos de vape; 
• Requerir que los minoristas de productos de vape obtengan una licencia estatal y cualquier permiso 

local requerido; y 
• Requerir que los distribuidores de productos vape obtengan una licencia estatal 

 
DOR es responsable del impuesto al consumo y de las licencias estatales, no de ciudades y pueblos.  Para 
obtener más información, visite el sitio web de DOR en www.mass.gov/dor. 
 
Como vendedor de productos de tabaco y / o vaporizador, tenga en cuenta que la prohibición de la venta de 
productos de vaporizador con sabor, que entró en vigencia el 27 de noviembre de 2019, se extenderá a los 
productos de tabaco tradicionales, incluyendo, entre otros, cigarrillos, cigarros, masticar tabaco, escupir 
tabaco, bidis y tabaco suelto. A partir del 1 de junio de 2020, los vendedores de tabaco en general y las tiendas 
de vender tabaco  solo para adultos no pueden vender estos productos. Solo las barras para fumadores están 
exentas de esta política y solo para el consumo en el   local. 
 
Una lista de muestra de productos afectados incluye, pero no se limita a: 
 

• Newport, Kool y Salem cigarrillos mentolados 
• Copenhague, menta Grizzly y Skoal menta o tabaco para aderezar / masticar con sabor 
• Cigarros, cigarrillos o bidis en sabores de frutas, dulces, menta, mentol o licor. 
• Cualquier otro producto de tabaco o vaporizador que tenga un sabor o aroma diferente al tabaco. 
• Productos de nicotina, incluso si no contienen tabaco. 

 
Tenga en cuenta que a partir del 1 de junio, la venta de cualquier producto de tabaco, incluidos los cigarrillos, 
estará prohibida a cualquier persona menor de 21 años en todo el estado. La ley estatal también aumenta 
sustancialmente las multas por ventas a menores y las violaciones de la política de restricción de ventas de 
productos de tabaco con sabor (entre otras políticas de la ley estatal). Las sanciones evaluadas por violaciones 
de la Ley General de Massachusetts, Capítulo 270, Sección 6 son: 
 

• $ 1000 por una primera violación (en lugar de $ 100); 
• $ 2000 por una segunda violación dentro de los 36 meses (en lugar de $ 200); y 
• $ 5000 por una tercera infracción o posterior dentro de los 36 meses (en lugar de $ 300) 

 
Las ciudades y pueblos locales no pueden reducir estas multas. Los infractores reincidentes también 
estarán sujetos a una suspensión local del permiso de venta de productos de tabaco. 
 
Para leer y comprender mejor estas leyes estatales enmendadas, vea Mass. Gen. Laws Capítulo 270, Sección 6 o 
busque “MGL Ch. 270, §6 ". 

 
North Shore/Cape Ann 

Boards of Health 
Tobacco Policy Program 

 

3 City Hall Square, Suite 401 
 Lynn, MA 01901 

 



 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

No Menthol… 
 

 Cigarettes 

 Cigars 

 Chew  

 Any other Tobacco or Vape Products 

No Flavored… 
 

 Cigarillos 

 Blunt Wraps 

 Liquid Vape Products 

 CBD Vape Products 
…that has taste or aroma other than tobacco 

No Flavored Pods Including… 
 

 JUUL 

 PUFF  

 SEA 
 eonsmoke 

 
*** at this time JUUL can only be sold at Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores*** 

No Mint or Wintergreen… 
 

 Chew 

 Dip 

 Spit 

 Pinch 

 Pouch 

 SNUS 

THIS IS A TRAINING TOOL, A SAMPLE OF THE OVER 8000 FLAVORED 
PRODUCTS THAT WILL BE PROHIBITED FOR SALE STARTING  

JUNE 1, 2020      
https://www.mass.gov/guides/2019-tobacco-control-law 
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No Flavored Vape…  
 

 Pens 

 Bars 

 Sticks 

 Hookah 

 Disposable/Reusable  

 or Other Devices 

No Flavored Premium Cigars… 
 

 Alcohol 

 Cognac  

 Wine 

 Spice 

 Fruit 

 Nut 

 Mint 
 

*This Includes Premium Cigars Stored In Humidors* 

No Flavored Small Cigars & Cigarillos… 
 

 Alcohol 

 Wine 

 Spice 

 Fruit 

 Nut 

 Mint 
 

*This Includes Small Cigars Stored In Humidors* 
 

  No Flavor Enhancers… 
 

 Cigarette 

 Cigar 

 Vape Products 
 
*Regardless of Tobacco or Nicotine Content* 

https://www.mass.gov/guides/2019-tobacco-control-law 
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