
Important Information for Taxpayers 

Eligibility for Statutory Personal Exemptions 

Fiscal Year 2020 
 

The various exemption options available for Lynn taxpayers, along with specific eligibility requirements, are 

outlined below. Please note that some additional requirements not listed may apply in some instances. The 

assessors require documentation necessary to establish eligibility. All the requirements listed are set by 

Massachusetts Law and cannot be waived. 

 

General Requirements 
 For all the exemptions listed below, the filing deadline is April 1, 2020. 

 All applications must be completed on an approved form available from the Assessing Department.  

 Unless otherwise noted, an applicant must own and be domiciled in the property as of July 1, 2019. 

 If a person holds a life estate in a property, for exemption purposes, they are considered the owner. If title 

to the property is held in trust, the applicant must be both a trustee and have sufficient beneficial interest as 

of July 1, 2019, to qualify. 

 An applicant must meet all other pertinent qualifications as of July 1, 2019. 

 

Widows, Widowers &  Minors with a Deceased Parent (Clause 17D) – Exemption Amount:$175 per year. 

Assets Limits:$65,860  
 Applicant must have status as a widow, widower or minor with a deceased parent as of July 1, 2019. 

 Excluding the property’s value (if three units or less), the applicant’s total estate as of July 1, 2019, 

cannot exceed $65,860. Certain additional assets are also excluded. If the property has more than three 

units, part of the property’s value will be included in the total estate, generally disqualifying the applicant. 

 

Seniors over 70 Years of Age may qualify under Clause 17D or 41C – Exemption Amount: $175 per year 

 

Clause 17D – Exemption Amount:$175 per year 
Assets Limits: $65,864 

 Applicant must be 70 years of age as of July 1, 2019  (If married, only the applicant must be 70). 

 Must have owned and occupied the property since at least July 1, 2014 (5 years). 

 Excluding the property’s value (if three units or less), the applicant’s total estate as of July 1, 2019, 

cannot exceed  $65,864. Certain additional assets are also excluded. If the property has more than 

three units, part of the property’s value will be included in the total estate, generally disqualifying the 

applicant. 

Clause 41C – Exemption Amount:$500 per year unless prorated for co-owners 

Asset Limits:    Married - $49,399,  Single - $46,106 

Income Limits:Married - $32,024, Single - $26,203 

 Applicant must be 70 years of age as of July 1, 2019. (If married, only the applicant must be 70.) 

 Must have owned real estate in Massachusetts at some time for at least 5 years and have been a 

resident of Massachusetts since July 1, 2009. Generally, the applicant must be the sole owner of the 

property or own it solely with his spouse to qualify. (It is possible to receive a partial exemption if 

there is an owner other than the spouse, but that person must meet the income and asset limits.) 

 Excluding the property’s value (if three units or less), the applicant’s total estate as of July 1, 2019, 

cannot exceed $49,399 if married, or $46,106 if single. 

  Certain additional assets are also excluded. If the property has more than three units, part of the 

property’s value will be included in the total estate, generally disqualifying the applicant. (Any non-

spouse owner must also meet this limit.) 

 Gross receipts (income) for calendar year 2018,can not exceed $32,024 if married, or $26,203 if 

single. If not receiving income, these limits will be lower. (Any non-spouse owner must also meet this 

limit.) 

 

(over)



Disabled Veterans (Clauses 22, 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D, 22E, Paraplegic) Exemption Amount:$400-full tax bill 

The various options are too numerous to list here. In general, exemptions are available for any veteran, spouse, 

or surviving spouse when the veteran lived in Massachusetts at least six months before enlisting or has lived in 

Massachusetts since July 1, 2014, (or for the five years preceding his death if deceased) and 

A. Had the disability as of July 1, 2019, (or had at death) at least a 10% service-connected disability, or  

B. Died as a result of injury or disease from being in a combat zone, or 

C. Awarded a Purple Heart, a Congressional Medal of Honor, or one of the service crosses, provided the 

applicant owns and is domiciled (along with the veteran if the applicant is a spouse) in the property. 

For disabled veterans, the previous requirement that a disability incurred during war-time service has 

been removed. 

 

Blind Persons (Clause 37A) Exemption Amount: $500 per year 
 Must provide a certificate from the Commission for the Blind establishing blindness as of July 1, 2019.  

 In the first year only, a letter from a doctor establishing the applicant meets the state eligibility standards 

for blind status may be substituted. 

 

Senior Tax Deferral (Clause 41A) Exemption Amount: Taxes are deferred at 5% simple interest 
 Applicant must be 65 years of age as of July 1, 2019. 

 Must have been a resident of Massachusetts since July 1, 2009 (10 years) and owned and been domiciled 

in the property or another property in Massachusetts for five years.  

 If a surviving spouse, the ownership requirement does not apply provided he inherited the property and 

otherwise qualifies. 

 Gross receipts (income) cannot exceed $40,000 for calendar year 2018. 

 A qualified taxpayer can elect to defer all or any part of his tax for the fiscal year and is still eligible for 

property tax exemptions. Taxes are currently deferred at the rate of 5% simple interest.  

 The taxpayer enters into an agreement with the City to repay the City with interest if he sells the property, 

or to have his estate repay the City with interest upon his death. 

 A lien is recorded to protect the City. Any joint owner or mortgagee must provide written agreement to 

allow the deferral. 

 

Hardship Exemption & Deferral (Clauses 18 & 18A) Exemption Amount: Taxes are deferred at 5% simple 

interest 

 For the exemption, a person must meet the requirement that he cannot meet his tax obligation due to age, 

infirmity, and financial hardship (all three are required to qualify.) If the taxpayer is over 65, it is the 

Board’s policy not to grant a hardship exemption if the person otherwise qualifies for deferral of his taxes. 

 For the deferral, the property owner must be unable to meet his tax obligation due to financial hardship or 

due to his military status being changed to active duty (excluding original enlistment), provided such 

person has been domiciled in the commonwealth since July 1, 2009.  

 There is no minimum age requirement. The assessors may allow deferral at the rate of 5% simple interest 

of all or part of the taxes assessed up to a period of three consecutive years.  

 The taxpayer enters into an agreement with the City to repay the taxes with interest if he sells the property, 

or to have his estate repay the City with interest upon his death. A lien is recorded to protect the City. Any 

joint owner or mortgagee must provide written agreement to allow the deferral.  

 Any deferred taxes must be repaid with interest in five equal installments over a five year period, 

commencing two years after the final year taxes are deferred. 

 

 

 

Please call the Assessing Department at 781-586-6702 or visit us in City Hall (Room 202) for additional 

information. 

 
 

FILING DEADLINE IS APRIL 1, 2020 


